About the Manuherikia Catchment Water Strategy Group

Group photo of the Manuherikia Catchment Water Strategy Group
Most members of the Manuherikia Catchment Water Strategy Group: back row, left to right: Ben Hore, Tommy Arthur, John Paterson, Richard Little, Gerard Flannery, Ralph Hore, Allan Kane, Niall Watson, Ken Gillespie (on the end). Front row, left to right: Dave Menzies, Mike Kelly, Loretta Dobbs, Claire Morris, John Waldron, Gerald Dowling, Anne Stevens, Warwick Hawker, Phil Tisch, Graye Shatkey, Jacob Dexter, Kate Scott.

The Manuherikia Catchment Water Strategy Group has an executive team of 10 people, which liaises with and is advised by a wider group of nearly 30 people, who represent a wide range of organisations. Within the wider group is a special interest group, which is made up of representatives of environmental and recreational organisations.

The MCWSG is led by independent chairperson Allan Kane, a high country merino sheep farmer from the Upper Clutha. The remainder of the executive team comprises deputy chairperson Gary Kelliher from the Manuherikia Irrigation Cooperative Society; Gerald Dowling and Ken Gillespie from the Hawkdun/Idaburn Irrigation Company; Gerard Flannery and Jan Manson from the Omakau Irrigation Company; Ralph Hore from the Falls Dam Company; Graye Shattky from the Central Otago Environmental Society and Warwick Hawker, the Central Otago District Council’s economic development manager. The project manager is Kate Scott, a resource management planner from a farming background, who is the managing director of Cromwell-based environmental planning, surveying and engineering company, Landpro.

The wider group comprises Anne Steven and Matt Sole (Forest & Bird); Niall Watson and Clare Morris (Fish & Game); Francie Diver and Maree Kleinlangevelsloo (Kai Tahu ki Otago); Gavin Udy and Jacob Dexter (Department of Conservation); Ben Hore (Blackstone Hill Irrigation Company); John Paterson (Ida Valley Irrigation Company); John Waldron (Falls Dam Company); Murray and Annette Heckler (Falls Dam Company); Mike Kelly (Galloway Irrigation Company); Tommy Arthur (Ida Valley Irrigation Company); James Armstrong (Private Water Rights Holders); Fraser Jonker (Pioneer Generation); Neil J. Gillespie (Contact Energy); Peter Bodeker (Otago Regional Council); Peter Morton (Central Otago District Council); Andrew Paterson; Brian Turner; Dave Menzies; George Collier; Glen Harrex; Hamish Jopp; Hilary Weber; Mary Flannery and Ritchie Stevens.

Profiles of group members

Allan Kane


The MCWSG is chaired by fourth generation Upper Clutha high country sheep farmer, Allan Kane, who has strong community and environmental values.

Gary Kelliher

Deputy Chairperson

Gary Kelliher is the deputy chairperson of the MCWSG. A third-generation farmer at Springvale, near Alexandra, Gary and his wife Kathy farm sheep and deer, with the help of Gary’s parents. They also run a gravel and clay quarry, and an accounting and office management business.

Kate Scott

Project Manager

Kate Scott is the Manuherikia Catchment Water Strategy Group’s project manager. She is also the managing director of Landpro Limited, a surveying, planning and engineering firm with offices in Cromwell, where Kate is based, and Gore, New Plymouth and Timaru.

Graye Shattky

Executive Team Member

Graye Shattky of St Bathans is a member of the Manuherikia Catchment Water Strategy Group’s executive team and represents environmental and social interests.

Gerard Flannery

Executive Team Member

Gerard Flannery of Ida Valley is a member of the Manuherikia Catchment Water Strategy Group’s executive team. His goal is to help find a community-wide solution to the catchment’s water issues so its water is used to benefit all interests.

Ken Gillespie

Executive Team Member

Ken Gillespie is a member of the Manuherikia Catchment Water Strategy Group’s executive team. He has chaired the Hawkdun Idaburn Irrigation Company for more than 20 years.

Niall Watson


Niall Watson is the chief executive of the Otago Fish & Game Council and is one of two Fish & Game representatives on the Manuherikia Catchment Water Strategy Group.

Tom Arthur


Tom Arthur chairs the Ida Valley Irrigation Company and is a member of the Manuherikia Catchment Water Strategy Group.

Ben Hore


Ben Hore farms at Becks and is a member of the Manuherikia Catchment Water Strategy Group.

Mike Kelly


Mike Kelly is a member of the Manuherikia Catchment Water Strategy Group. He is the secretary and treasurer of the Galloway Irrigation Society and owns 10 hectares at Galloway on which he farms deer and grows walnuts.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with stylesheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so. The latest version of Firefox, Safari, Google Chrome or Internet Explorer will work best if you're after a new browser.